Finally Faery Wands!!!

Faery Wands Faery Wands Faery Wands

The idea to make quality, hand made, unique faery wands came to me while at work.   Toy stores wands are usually plastic with plastic beads, plush fabric stars, ribbon and etc etc.   I feel children (or really cool adults) deserve better.  Wands are one of the most important parts or magical play.  So why skimp.  (Sorry Hoggle)

So here’s where I started.  Oak dowels.

I, of course, cut these in half…

Didn’t get a shot, but next with my dremmel I drilled a hole in one end, in order to thread the wire through to string on beads and such.  Just wrapping the wire around the dowel was not going to keep it in place.

I shaped and rounded the ends using sanding bits on the dremmel, adding character to each.  To finish the wood, I coated each with lemonpolish and cleaning oil.

May I say they looked amazing just after this.

 

Then the real fun begins, dressing them with with beads, glass, semi-precious stones, trinkets like found rings and old lockets.  Copper wire is easy to work with, and a touch of power too.

So, here are some of  the results 😉 enjoy!

 

 

 

 

 

~ by Unexpected Arts on June 11, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
